Did you know that getting married in Oregon may require an assortment of licenses, applications, and fees? This is because each state is very different when it comes to marriage laws. And while it is hard enough to keep track of this information when you live in the state of Oregon it can be doubly hard if you are not a resident and live far away. This is why the computer age is so important to us. We can be all the way across the country and still find out important information like where to go and what to bring.
Getting Married in The Beaver State
Like many states in our great country you will need to go directly to the county that you will be married in for detailed information about getting married in Oregon. But to start your search you can go to the main Oregon Government website. Here you can search out marriage license and be directed to any one of the county sites. For example, let's say you want to be married in Clackamas County. You will be directed to the site that discusses Marriage Licenses Webpage for Clackamas County.
First it is important to understand that you have to have a marriage license in order to be legally married. This is not just a requirement of Oregon but of every state in the country. However, the state of Oregon will only let your license be valid for 60 days. This amount of time is not standard to all states so make sure you know ahead of time how long you can wait after you are issued the license before you have to be married.
Here you will also find out that the fee associated with your license is $60.00. This is also something that is different between states and even counties, so be sure to check with the specific county you will be married in. While there are not many requirements like the need for blood tests, there are others that are important to know about ahead of time. For instance, you must be at least 18 years of age to apply for a license without the consent of your parents or legal guardians. Both parties must be present to fill out the application as well as both need to bring valid photo ID's, proof of social security number, and even a copy of your birth certificate will make things go smoother and quicker.
What really makes the state of Oregon stand out amongst the rest is that you can go online to get many of the forms done ahead of time. For instance, if you can get a Marriage License Worksheet online and have it all filled out when you arrive. Just keep in mind that there is a three-day waiting period before you can use your license. While many states have done away with a waiting period requirement, when you get married in Oregon it is a strict requirement. So be sure to not plan your wedding date directly after the date you get your license.
However, if you do not want to do a lot of the legwork online you can go directly to the Recorders Office in Oregon. You will find them ready and willing to help you in any way they can. Also, you may want to ask them about information pertaining to getting a certified copy of your marriage certificate as well as information about how to change your name after you are married. While these subjects often get forgotten they are the most important ones to your future.