Main » Getting Married In the United States » Getting Married In North Carolina
Share/Bookmark

Getting Married In North Carolina

If you are planning on getting married in North Carolina you will need to go online as soon as possible to find out all you need to know about the laws and regulations.  This is because each state is different and many different licenses may apply as well as fees.  And this is especially true if you are not a resident of this great state.  Although any person is allowed to be married here even if they are not a resident, there are many specific laws that must be followed.  The best place for you to start is the North Carolina Magistrates Association. 

This is where you will find out what you need to know about applying for a marriage license.  For instance, it is necessary that both parties be present when applying.  All too often one or the other will get ahead of each other and show up alone thinking they can take this portion of the list over.  But besides showing up together you must also have the right information with you.  For instance, you must bring a photo ID as well as documentation that shows where you were born, when you were born, and the same information about your parents.  This is where a Birth Certificate really comes in handy.

Forms, Fees, and More For Getting Married In The Tar Heel State


Also, you will need to show proof of your social security number. This can be done with bringing your social security card, or even by coming with a copy of your W-2 form, or even a payroll stub. You can even request that the Social Security Administration make a statement proving you have a valid number. This is very important in each state actually as it goes towards helping in matters where child support is an issue.  For more information about getting a copy of your social security number you can go directly to the Social Security Administration online. Just make sure that you both have your own separate information present at the application process.

Other information that is important when getting married in North Carolina is the fact that you must be 18 years old or older in order to apply without the consent from your parents or legal guardian. But perhaps the most important information is about how long your license is valid for.  In the State of North Carolina your license once issued will be valid for 60 days.  This is very important to know if you are planning years in advance for your wedding.  Also, you will need to go to the County Register of Deeds office in the county you will be married in to fill out you're application.  To speed up this process you can the Worksheet For Preparation of Marriage License Form. This is found at the Magistrates Association under Weddings. This whole section is perfect to help you prepare for your North Carolina wedding. It lists not only what to expect or how to get your ceremony performed as well as important information concerning your name change. 

The fee associated with this license is $50.00. The nominal fee of $20.00 goes towards supporting domestic violence programs. Also, you will need to pay $10.00 for a certified copy of your license. This is very important, as you will need this in the future for many issues that can come up. Remember that finding this information can be easy when you have the right help, and the right help can always be found online.