Main » Getting Married In the United States » Getting Married in Montana
Share/Bookmark

Getting Married in Montana

Montana is a region of wild natural beauty and vast open spaces. People who live there or who visit often describe it as one of the most beautiful parts of the United States in terms of wilderness and other outdoors-type vistas and activities. For residents of the state or vacationers who are thinking of getting married in Montana, there are a few things to know before marching down to the clerk's office and trying to obtain a marriage license.

Keep in mind, that state marriage law is the overriding guiding set of rules that govern Montana marriage licenses, but also understand that each county can adjust those laws to suit its purposes when it comes to fees and paperwork prior to issuing the license. A good general purpose website that can give one some information about this can be found over at the USMarriageLaws.com portal at: www.usmarriagelaws.com. Additionally, marriage mavens recommend that planning for getting a marriage license in Montana start taking place at least 3 to 4 weeks out.

Forms, Licenses, and Information about Getting Married in the Treasure State


The first thing to know about getting married in Montana is that there are no residency requirements, which is in keeping with just about every other state in the nation these days. For couples really into nature hiking or even big game hunting and who are thinking of being married in Montana, the state can be a great place to do so.

Photo identification requirements are fairly straightforward, and will normally consist of having to present some form of government-issued photo ID. It's a good idea to bring certified copies of birth certificates just in case. Additionally, couples will need to supply Social Security numbers for Montana marriage applications.

For those who have been married before, be prepared to supply a copy of the divorce decree for a copy of the death certificate in the event that the previous marriage unfortunately ended in the death of a spouse. For those 18 years of age or older, there is no waiting period in order to be able to obtain Montana marriage licenses.

The WedAlert.com site is also a good marriage-related portal where quality information about getting hitched in Montana can be found. There a number of good quality websites on the Internet that can handle all paperwork related to Montana marriage licenses, by the way.

License fees usually run around $58 and its all cash and carry in all of the state's counties. Never forget to bring money along on a County Clerk marriage license issuance expedition. Also, the bride -- unless she is over 50 years of age -- will need to provide proof of a negative blood test for rubella, which is kind of unusual as far as states go, with most not worrying about such blood tests anymore.

Persons younger than 18 years of age, meaning those 16 or 17 years old, have to meet certain requirements before they are allowed to be married in Montana. Just visit one of the two websites above to get a good handle on what might be required.