Main » Getting Married In the United States » Getting Married in Michigan
Share/Bookmark

Getting Married in Michigan

For those residents or visitors and vacationers to the Wolverine State, getting married in Michigan will mean learning a few things about various state requirements, rules and regulations though none of Michigan's requirements are all that hard to fulfill. Most people knowledgeable about marriage license law, though, highly recommend that the process for lining up paperwork be started 3 to 4 weeks prior to the actual wedding ceremony.

Keep in mind, also, that state law covers the broad outlines of what it takes to get married in Michigan, and the various counties in the state might have certain rules that vary slightly from those state guidelines. It's always a good idea to check out one of the websites dealing with Michigan marriage licenses beforehand.

Forms, Licenses, and Information for Getting Married in the Wolverine State


There is no residency requirement in Michigan, so those who are vacationing or visiting the state may feel free to wed if the mood strikes them. There are literally thousands of miles of shoreline and natural beauty is in abundance in this greatest of the Great Lakes states, so it's a sure bet that a site or venue can be found that would be the perfect place for such weddings.

The fee for nonresidents, by the way, who are thinking of being married in Michigan, is an extra $10, by the way, so be prepared for that charge when going to line up a marriage license. As far as those licenses go, residents of the state will need to apply for the license in the county where at least one of them lives. For those who do not live in the state, they will need to apply for the license in the county in which they are going to be getting married in Michigan.

This doesn't mean, however, that for residents the license is restricted to that particular county. On the contrary, Michigan law allows the marriage to be performed in any county once the license is applied for and granted. Generally, those who were previously married will need to supply the month, day and year in which the marriage ended in order to be granted a license. If the divorce was in the last six months, a certified copy of the divorce decree will be needed, also.

There are several counties in the state that require a copy of the divorce decree in any circumstance, so it's probably best to just bring it along. Additionally, if the marriage unfortunately ended because of the death of the other spouse, it's a good idea to bring a copy of the death certificate along.

Identification requirements are fairly straightforward and usually consist of a driver's license or other form of government-issued photo ID (military, state identification card, passport etc.). Also, bring certified copies of birth certificates to the clerk's office. Be prepared to supply the full names of the parents of each party to the wedding along with the maiden names of each of the mothers.

As far as waiting periods go, there is a three-day period and it doesn't include the issuing day. For example, if the license is issued on a Tuesday, then Saturday will be the first day in which the marriage can be legally performed. State residents will pay at least $20 for Michigan marriage applications and licenses and nonresidents will pay $30. Cash is king, and most counties will not accept checks or credit cards.

Those persons younger than 18 who desire to wed in the state of Michigan have to meet certain other requirements before a license can be issued. Just check out either of the two sites listed above or other sites that are set up to handle transactions like this from start to finish if there are any other questions.