Main » Getting Married In the United States » Getting Married in Georgia
Share/Bookmark

Getting Married in Georgia

When it the time comes to finally double down on the relationship that one has entered into with his or her significant other, and this will entail getting married in Georgia, then it's always helpful to take a few moments to learn a bit about what is required when it comes to something like Georgia marriage licenses. For one thing, keep in mind that laws and regulations in the Peach State can vary slightly from county to county.

Georgia does not have a law that requires residency in order to obtain something like Georgia marriage applications, though nonresidents must get married in the county in which the marriage license was obtained. A good source that can provide a little bit of information about such a requirement is the Web portal over at the USMarriageLaws.com website at www.usmarriagelaws.com/search/united_states/georgia/index.shtml.

Vital Information for Couples Getting Married in the Peach State


As far as identification requirements go when it comes to getting Georgia marriage licenses, the state requires that two valid forms of identification be presented. This can be a combination of a driver's license, a birth certificate, an armed forces identification card, a resident alien ID card or a United States passport. Additionally, expect to be asked to fill out a brief form.

One county in the state (Cobb County) offers a free premarital education class that attempts to address anticipated issues that can arise during the course of a marriage. It is totally non-religion based, and can be quite diverting and informative for those who might have questions or issues with what it takes to make a marriage successful.

For those who were previously married and had divorced within six months of this new marriage, a copy of the divorce decree will need to be presented when one goes to get married in Georgia. Plus, there are several counties in the state that will require a copy of the divorce decree no matter how long ago in the past the divorce occurred.

There are no waiting periods in order to enter into wedlock within the state, and the fee for getting married in Georgia runs around $65 or a little more, depending on the county in which the marriage license will be issued. Cash is King; so keep that in mind, as some counties do not accept any other form of payment but US legal tender.

There are no blood tests or other public health examinations required in order to obtain Georgia marriage licenses as of about six or seven years ago. Such a requirement was a holdover from the early 20th century, and the Peach State has tossed the old requirement to the side.

Generally, Georgia state law holds that both persons getting married must be at least 18 years of age, though there are counties that will allow for 16 and 17-year-olds to be married if they meet certain requirements. This would include parental or legal guardian permission, given in person and also with a certified copy of a birth certificate in hand, and a few counties will also require the permission of a probate judge in order to carry out the ceremony.

When the time comes to be married in Georgia, it's always a good idea to begin the process at least 30 days prior to the event in order to avoid any wedding day foul-ups. A little bit of early preparation and planning will always prevent poor performance and frustration when the moment arrives to partake in all the fun and excitement that comes with the big wedding day.