Main » Getting Married In the United States » Getting Married in Colorado
Share/Bookmark

Getting Married in Colorado

Colorado, sometimes called the Centennial State, is a land of opportunity and welcoming attitude towards its citizens, residents and those visiting or vacationing. This environment also extends to those who wish to get married in Colorado, whether a resident or just visiting. For this reason, when contemplating what it will take to get married in Colorado, it's good to take a few moments to know what's needed in order to make it happen.

It's important to remember, first of all, that individual counties within the state may have laws that differ slightly from the state law though this will not be anything to become too concerned about. Colorado is a very organized and well-run state, and its marriage rules and regulations reflect that fact.

Identification will be required in order to obtain a marriage license prior to getting married in Colorado, and it will usually need to consist of something like a government issued identification card. This can be a driver's license or a visa in addition to military identification cards and passports. Also, make sure to bring along social security cards.

Know What Forms and Documents You Need to Get Married in the Centennial State


As far as residency requirements go, as mentioned before: there are none. This means that Colorado is a great state for vacationing, sightseeing and then getting married if the mood strikes. Additionally, the state does not require a waiting period nor is it concerned about any physical examinations or blood tests. When it comes to fees, Colorado is very reasonable and most counties will only charge around $10. However, Cash is King so don't expect to be able to use a credit card when it comes to Colorado marriage licenses.

For those who have been married before, the state is kind of a stickler about providing a certified copy of a divorce decree or a comma in the unfortunate event that the previous spouse is deceased. In addition Colorado recognizes what are known as "common law marriages", and those marriages also fall under the same age requirements as a formally executed marriage would entail.

As far as the age for getting married in Colorado goes, those people who are 18 years of age or older may marry without restriction and license requirements are standardized across the board for people of such age. For those less than 18 years of age - meaning, generally, those 16 or 17 years of age - the state requires that the consent of the parents or the parent having legal custody be obtained prior to a marriage license being issued.

Moreover, those 16 or 17 years of age can obtain permission through judicial court order in special circumstances. Additionally, for someone under 16 years of age a marriage license can only be obtained by judicial court order and with the permission of the parent or parents having legal custody. Colorado is a little quirky in that it will allow couples to perform their own marriage ceremonies, which are known as solemnization. They first have to apply for the proper permission through the applicable county courthouse where the marriage ceremony will be performed. Clergy from out of state are also allowed to perform the ceremony, which is of course very convenient. However, friends and relatives are not allowed to perform the marriage ceremony.

Those of you who have other questions about getting married can always head onto the Internet and pull up a website like the About.com for more information.